Dear all,
I am currently developing a radar using two bladeRFs (bladerf 2.0 micro XA4). I transmitted the signal using bladeRF 1 and received the echo using bladeRF 1 and bladeRF 2. I control both bladeRFs using GNU Radio. To receive the signal, I use two osmocom source blocks. In every osmocom block, I assign each bladeRF using the argument "bladerf =0" for bladeRF 1 and "bladerf=1" for bladeRF 2. There was no error when I ran the flowgraph. However, I only receive the signal on the bladeRF 1.
I have checked the cables and the received signal from two receiver paths to make sure that there is no issue with the antenna and cable. Everything was ok and the received signal was detected in my spectrum analyzer.
Is there anyone who can help to find a solution to this issue? I greatly appreciate any help to fix this problem.
Best,
Eduemon
Receiving signal from two different bladeRF
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2024 8:22 pm
Re: Receiving signal from two different bladeRF
Use the bladeRF-cli utility to list the devices and verify their IDs.eduemon wrote: ↑Tue May 28, 2024 12:05 am Dear all,
I am currently developing a radar using two bladeRFs (bladerf 2.0 micro XA4). I transmitted the signal using bladeRF 1 and received the echo using bladeRF 1 and bladeRF 2. I control both bladeRFs using GNU Radio. To receive the signal, I use two osmocom source blocks. In every osmocom block, I assign each bladeRF using the argument "bladerf =0" for bladeRF 1 and "bladerf=1" for bladeRF 2. There was no error when I ran the flowgraph. However, I only receive the signal on the bladeRF 1. tiny fishing
I have checked the cables and the received signal from two receiver paths to make sure that there is no issue with the antenna and cable. Everything was ok and the received signal was detected in my spectrum analyzer.
Is there anyone who can help to find a solution to this issue? I greatly appreciate any help to fix this problem.
Best,
Eduemon
bladeRF-cli -p
This should list all connected BladeRF devices with their serial numbers and IDs.
Ensure that the osmo_source block arguments match the IDs from the bladeRF-cli output.
For example, if bladeRF-cli -p shows
Device 0: serial 123456...
Device 1: serial 654321...
Then in GNU Radio:
bladerf=0 should refer to the first device (Device 0).
bladerf=1 should refer to the second device (Device 1).
2. Check GNU Radio Flowgraph Configuration
Review your GNU Radio flowgraph to ensure that both osmocom source blocks are correctly configured and enabled.
Osmocom Source Block Configuration:
Ensure each osmocom source block has the correct device arguments.
For BladeRF 1: bladerf=0
For BladeRF 2: bladerf=1
Enable Both Blocks:
Double-check that both osmocom source blocks are enabled in the flowgraph.
3. Verify Signal Paths and Antenna Connections
Ensure that the signal paths and antenna connections are correct and that both BladeRF devices are properly connected to their respective antennas.
Antenna and Cable Verification:
As you've already checked the cables and antenna with a spectrum analyzer, ensure there’s no intermittent connection issue.
Swap antennas and cables between the devices to rule out hardware issues.
4. Check Gain and Frequency Settings
Ensure that both BladeRF devices have the correct gain and frequency settings.
Frequency Alignment:
Ensure both devices are set to the same frequency for receiving the signal.
Gain Settings:
Verify that the gain settings for both osmocom source blocks are appropriate and not set too low or too high.
5. Examine the Flowgraph Outputs
Check the output of both osmocom source blocks in the flowgraph to ensure data is being processed correctly.
Visualize Output:
Use blocks like QT GUI Sink or Time Sink to visualize the received signals from both sources.
6. Debugging with Logs and Messages
Use GNU Radio logging and message debugging features to see if there are any errors or warnings related to the second BladeRF device.
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon May 27, 2024 1:51 am
Re: Receiving signal from two different bladeRF
Thank you for the suggestions.
1. For the 1st suggestion, I have checked both BladeRF's ID, and all of them were detected by my computer.
2. I have configured the device arguments on both osmocom blocks. They were working perfectly. I even swapped the arguments between both and it was working as well.
3. I have measured both antenna's paths that are coming to both BladeRF by using a spectrum analyzer. There was no issue there.
4. I have configured the gain and the frequency correctly for both channels. Both are identical in my case.
5. I have checked the flowgraph output and I did not find any errors.
6. I found no error in the Logs and messages while running the flowgraph.
Best regards,
Eduemon
1. For the 1st suggestion, I have checked both BladeRF's ID, and all of them were detected by my computer.
2. I have configured the device arguments on both osmocom blocks. They were working perfectly. I even swapped the arguments between both and it was working as well.
3. I have measured both antenna's paths that are coming to both BladeRF by using a spectrum analyzer. There was no issue there.
4. I have configured the gain and the frequency correctly for both channels. Both are identical in my case.
5. I have checked the flowgraph output and I did not find any errors.
6. I found no error in the Logs and messages while running the flowgraph.
Best regards,
Eduemon
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2024 12:38 am
Re: Receiving signal from two different bladeRF
Ensure that the bladerf=1 argument is properly assigned for bladeRF 2 in the second osmocom source block. It's possible that both source blocks are defaulting to the same bladeRF (i.e., bladeRF 1) despite the configuration. Double-check the device argument to make sure there is no typo or incorrect assignment.eduemon wrote: ↑Tue May 28, 2024 12:05 am Dear all,
I am currently developing a radar using two bladeRFs (bladerf 2.0 micro XA4). I transmitted the signal using bladeRF 1 and received the echo using bladeRF 1 and bladeRF 2. I control both bladeRFs Retro Bowl College using GNU Radio. To receive the signal, I use two osmocom source blocks. In every osmocom block, I assign each bladeRF using the argument "bladerf =0" for bladeRF 1 and "bladerf=1" for bladeRF 2. There was no error when I ran the flowgraph. However, I only receive the signal on the bladeRF 1.
I have checked the cables and the received signal from two receiver paths to make sure that there is no issue with the antenna and cable. Everything was ok and the received signal was detected in my spectrum analyzer.
Is there anyone who can help to find a solution to this issue? I greatly appreciate any help to fix this problem.
Best,
Eduemon
You might also try specifying the complete device argument as follows: "device=bladeRF1" or "device=bladeRF2" to be more explicit.
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon May 27, 2024 1:51 am
Re: Receiving signal from two different bladeRF
Thank you for the suggestions.
I solved that problem by configuring two bladeRF using two terminals (it's like opening a new tab in a browser) and it's working.
Best.
I solved that problem by configuring two bladeRF using two terminals (it's like opening a new tab in a browser) and it's working.
Best.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2024 12:33 am
- Location: United States
Re: Receiving signal from two different bladeRF
One suggestion is to double-check the configuration of the osmocom source blocks in GNU Radio, ensuring that both are set up correctly to receive on their respective channels. Additionally, verify that both bladeRFs are properly synchronized and that there are no conflicts in the settings for gain, sampling rate, or frequency.eduemon wrote: ↑Tue May 28, 2024 12:05 am Dear all,
I am currently developing a radar using two bladeRFs (bladerf 2.0 micro XA4). I transmitted the signal using bladeRF 1 and received the echo using bladeRF 1 and bladeRF 2. I control both bladeRFs using GNU Radio. To receive the signal, I use two osmocom source blocks. In every osmocom block, I assign each bladeRF using the argument "bladerf =0" for bladeRF 1 and "bladerf=1" for bladeRF 2. There was no error when I ran the flowgraph. However, I only receive the signal on the bladeRF 1.papa's scooperia
I have checked the cables and the received signal from two receiver paths to make sure that there is no issue with the antenna and cable. Everything was ok and the received signal was detected in my spectrum analyzer.
Is there anyone who can help to find a solution to this issue? I greatly appreciate any help to fix this problem.
Best,
Eduemon