My BladeRfx40 is good?

Follow our development of DSP and SDR tutorials

Moderator: robert.ghilduta

Post Reply
omar
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:46 pm

My BladeRfx40 is good?

Post by omar » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:37 pm

Hello friends.
I am new and I have great frustration.
I tried to install bladerfx40 in windos10, but this did not work well.
but in linux it's fine for me.
LED 2 blinks well,
but I do not see that it transmits, I install a sniffer nearby, but it does not capture a signal,
I installed a DVB-T + FM + DAB and I do not see any signal on SDR-RADIO either.
Nevertheless,
  I follow the detail guide https://github.com/Nuand/bladeRF/wiki/G ... -Operation and everything goes well for me, equal to the answers that are in the guide.

I want to know if my bladerfx40 if it transmits or not? Is it okay or not?
and if there is any way to test the transmission or a video tutorial

The RX work well, the test with gqrx show the capture in all frequencies

Thank you

bglod
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: My BladeRfx40 is good?

Post by bglod » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:32 am

Because the RX seems to work, let's try running the bladeRF in external loopback. That is, take one of the SMA cables provided with the bladeRF and connect the RX port to the TX port. Using the bladeRF-cli, make sure the FPGA is loaded, and then set your RX and TX gains to something sensible, along with frequencies and bandwidth settings. Transmit a waveform, and try to receive the waveform. Because this is analog loopback, your digital RX values will not match your digital TX values. They will likely be quite far off. However, what we're looking for is a general waveform that looks "similar" to what you transmitted. Here's a quick test you can run:

tx.csv

Code: Select all

0, 0
127, 127
255, 255
383, 383
511, 511
639, 639
767, 767
895, 895
1023, 1023
1151, 1151
1279, 1279
1407, 1407
1535, 1535
1663, 1663
1791, 1791
1919, 1919
2047, 2047
script.txt

Code: Select all

set lnagain 6
set rxvga1 5
set rxvga2 0

set txvga1 -4
set txvga2 0

set bandwidth 28M
set samplerate 40M

set frequency rx 1000M
set frequency tx 1005M

cal lms
cal dc rx
cal dc tx


tx config        file=tx.csv format=csv repeat=0 delay=0
rx config n=10K  file=rx.csv format=csv
tx start
rx start
rx wait
tx stop
Run bladeRF-cli with this script and make sure tx.csv is present in the same directory as the script.txt file.

Code: Select all

bladeRF-cli -s script.txt
You should see something like this in rx.csv:

Code: Select all

-4, -624
-239, 261
454, 728
1531, -457
427, 667
-482, 1587
-1003, 605
-1253, -179
-472, -1326
181, -1380
1126, -525
1222, -27
168, 1303
-41, 1476
-932, 568
-1174, 65
-50, -1273
-531, -1165
-602, 533
521, 717
922, 662
41, 1020
-1326, 610
-1143, -144
-391, -1217
65, -1405
1241, -576
1179, 107
178, 1261
-7, 1470
-1005, 610
-1123, 4
Keep in mind that the bladeRF only has a maximum transmit power of about +4 dBm (changes based on frequency). Therefore, depending on your TX gain settings, antenna, and your sniffer device, you may need to be fairly close to the bladeRF to detect anything being transmitted.

As for whether the device works in Windows 10 -- it should -- make sure you have the latest installer from the support page on our website. SDR-Radio is a third-party tool that we do not maintain. If you have any error messages, we can try to help, but you might have better luck checking with their community.
Electrical Engineer
Nuand, LLC.

User avatar
rtucker
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:38 am

Re: My BladeRfx40 is good?

Post by rtucker » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:37 am

Also, I'd be interested to know more about the issues you had getting things going with Windows 10... it should work okay, and if it doesn't, we'd like to fix it. :)

Thanks!
Rey Tucker (she/her)
Systems Engineer, Nuand LLC
Rochester, NY, USA

omar
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:46 pm

Re: My BladeRfx40 is good?

Post by omar » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:42 pm

Thanks Dear

Excuse me, it was somewhat complex for me your explanation, but I greatly appreciate your response, sincerely thank you.

However, I found this tutorial https://github.com/Nuand/bladeRF/wiki/b ... and-Tricks and I could see that my bladeRF x 40, transmits well.

This was my main doubt.

Well, for the extremely inexperienced like me, and this may serve you.
On a laptop install on bladeRFx40, and execute the commands on linux.

On another laptop with windows install the SDR Radio, and with the DBV-T + FM + DAB doongle, check the transmission of the blade

I will continue working on this, my desire is to learn.
Attachments
tx.png

omar
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:46 pm

Re: My BladeRfx40 is good?

Post by omar » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:46 pm

Hi Rtucker

I do not understand well that of the pthread-win 32, and how to run it in windows 10 / 64

:cry:

User avatar
rtucker
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:38 am

Re: My BladeRfx40 is good?

Post by rtucker » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:39 pm

omar wrote:
Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:46 pm
I do not understand well that of the pthread-win 32, and how to run it in windows 10 / 64
Unless you're looking to develop or modify the bladeRF host software itself, you should use the pre-built installer, available from https://nuand.com/installers.php . This will install the necessary signed drivers and DLLs, the FPGA images, the bladeRF-cli utility, and everything else needed to use the bladeRF with third-party software on Windows.

It is possible to build from source on Windows, but it's much more difficult and time-consuming than Linux or macOS, so I don't recommend it if you can avoid it.
Rey Tucker (she/her)
Systems Engineer, Nuand LLC
Rochester, NY, USA

Post Reply